Vegan VS Vegetarian: Myth and Facts

Vegetarian VS Vegan

People's eating habits are often linked to the environment around them. There are indeed a number of aspects that can affect everyone's food desires. The strong developments in the food industry, the use of technological products, the growing difficulties related to poor nutrition ... these are among other important causes that influence dietary trends. So, when some are vegetarians, others are vegan. Everyone then chooses their side to protect themselves and live better. Are there differences or points in common between the two notions? A set of questions then remain and require careful deciphering.

Vegan VS Vegetarian
Photo From lennylarry.com



The vegetarian
Vegetarian is a person who loves vegetarianism. The latter is a food orientation that consists of not consuming animals. As a result, the vegetarian does not eat meat, fish or seafood, let alone shellfish. However, there are various forms that are distinguished by the foods added here and there in the different dishes of the vegetarian. This practice of vegetarianism is not new, it has existed since the time of ancient Greece. Originally, vegetarians were even called "Pythagoreans" because they did not add meat to their diet.

The vegan
If the vegetarian does not consume animals, he still has the choice on other products. The vegan is considered as an individual who, in his diet, only adds products of plant origin. Vegans are very strict because, in addition to banishing everything that is meat, fish, egg or other, they do not even use the products tested on animals. Because of this strictness, the vegan is called vegan, a term of Anglo-Saxon origin that replaces vegan in French. Veganism appeared in 1944, thanks to Donald Watson and gradually, the practice has spread all over the world until today.

Leaflet of the vegetarian
The vegetarian has various choices of categories of products other than animals. In general, red or white meat, fish and seafood are not part of the vegetarian diet. However, there are some nuances in the way of practicing this food habit. It is important, however, to discern them. Lacto-ovo-vegetarian is the vegetarian who eats foods of animal origin such as dairy products or eggs. There is also the so-called lacto-vegetarian who excludes eggs from his diet, nevertheless uses dairy products. Finally, the semi-vegetarian does not eat meat, but you can find fish, seafood and even poultry in his dishes.

Leaflet of vegan (vegan)
The vegan's diet is confused with that of the vegan. Veganism is not just a specific dietary habit, but a lifestyle of its own. The vegan thus adopts in his way of living and eating, the categorical refusal of animal exploitation. Such a practice is cruel to the eyes of the vegan who excludes being a source of suffering for animals. Vegan or vegan is not just about food but refuses to wear clothes, shoes, or other products that come from or are tested on animals. The vegan thus adopts a strict lifestyle that differentiates it from the vegetarian.

Share with your friends and family